New Law Association council installed

Attorney Sophia Chote, SC. -
Attorney Sophia Chote, SC. -

THE new council of the Law Association has been officially installed and will hold its first meeting next week.

The appointment of the 35th council, led by Senior Counsel Sophia Chote, was gazetted on April 6 and announced to members in an e-mail the same day.

Chote was unopposed for president. Members voted in deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission Rajiv Persad as vice-president at a virtual AGM and election on March 19. Some 1,022 members voted.

Since at the time there were no valid nominations for the position of treasurer, a resolution was put to members to extend the date for nominations to March 31. Anil Maraj was unopposed as treasurer.

At the AGM, members also voted for ten senior and five ordinary members.

The ten senior ordinary members are:

Darrell Allahar

Frederick Gilkes

Lynette Seebaran-Suite

Helen Araujo

Shankar Bidaisee

Mario Merritt

Ronnie Bissessar

Christlyn Moore

Patricia Dindyal

Michael Rooplal

The five ordinary members are:

Peter Carter

Aaron Mahabir

Trevor Clarke

Anuradha Dean

Alexia Romero.


"New Law Association council installed"

More in this section