Narine out, Bravo returns for New Zealand tour

Darren Bravo -
Darren Bravo -

SUNIL NARINE was not selected for the West Indies T20 squad but Darren Bravo returns to the Test squad for the forthcoming tour of New Zealand.

The West Indies will play three T20 Internationals (November 27 in Auckland, November 29 and 30 at Mount Maunganui) and two Tests (December 3-7 in Hamilton and December 11-15 in Wellington) against the hosts.

In a report on Tuesday’s Newsday, Cricket West Indies (CWI) CEO Johnny Grave said that Narine will be in consideration for WI selection since he was not suspended from bowling, for a suspect action, during the current Indian Premier League (IPL).

Off-spinner Narine was called for throwing last Saturday and has not featured since for his IPL team Kolkata Knight Riders.

According to a media release from CWI on Friday, “the selection panel indicated this series will form part of the overall planning towards defending the ICC World T20 title. The panel outlined that they will continue to monitor closely the progress of Narine and all other players in the lead-up to the global event.”

Bravo, fellow left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer and all-rounder Keemo Paul, who opted out July’s three-Test series away to England, for covid19 reasons, have all returned to the Test squad, at the expense of all-rounder Raymon Reifer, batsmen Nkrumah Bonner and the out-of-form Shai Hope, who has not scored a Test century since 2017.

CWI lead selector Roger Harper said in a media release, “I expect that Darren will solidify the top order, hopefully making it more productive, while Shimron gives the squad more options in the middle order. Keemo provides another wicket-taking seam option.”

Sunil Narine -

Concerning Hope, Harper said, “Shai is a player who I think has a tremendous future in Test cricket but, at the moment, he needs to reorganise his Test match game and get his batting in the longest version back to its best.”

For the tour of England, 11 reserves were selected (with fast bowler Shannon Gabriel drafted into the Test team); this time six reserves were named – wicketkeeper Joshua DaSilva, opening batsman Shayne Moseley and pacer Preston McSween remain, and they will be joined by Reifer, Bonner and TT and WI Under-19 fast bowler Jayden Seales.

“Jayden is a very talented young fast bowler, who is being given some exposure to the West Indies team environment on tour in an effort to fast track his development,” said Harper.

Three key members of the WI T20 team – openers Evin Lewis and Lendl Simmons, as well as all-rounder Andre Russell, have declined the offer to “participate in the tour”, and the CWI “states that this will not impact consideration for future selection”.

Barbados Tridents all-rounder Kyle Mayers earns his maiden WI T20 call-up, while wicketkeeper Andre Fletcher is recalled, following good performances during the 2020 Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

However, all-rounder Fabian Allen (who missed the CPL for personal reasons), opener Brandon King and leg-spinner Hayden Walsh jnr – who both struggled to replicate their successes in the 2019 CPL, have been retained.


Test Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach.

Test Reserves - Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales.

T20 International Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.


"Narine out, Bravo returns for New Zealand tour"

More in this section