Callender retains PNM Tobago Council chairmanship


Incumbent party chairman, Stanford Callender has retained his post in the PNM Tobago Council, while incumbent political leader Kelvin Charles and TT Ambassador to Costa Rica Tracy Davidson-Celestine will go head to head on Sunday in a runoff, as was the case in the last internal election in 2016.

Chairman of the elections supervisory committee, Alvin Pascall made the announcement on Monday, one day after the council held its internal party elections with all 17 positions up for grabs. The one-man-one-vote system, which has been adopted for the first time for all positions, generated a logistical challenge as party members as well as members of the media endured long hours awaiting the official results.

Counting was suspended in the wee hours of Monday to 2 pm, which, according to Pascall, was a decision taken to safeguard the welfare of the staff counting.

Emerging from the council’s office shortly after 7.30 pm on Monday to speak with members of the media gathered outside the party’s Scarborough headquarters, the first results to be conveyed by Pascall was that of political leader based on the ballots from all 13 polling stations.

The incumbent Political leader Kelvin Charles, who is hoping to secure another four-year term got 1,513 votes while Ambassador Davidson-Celestine received 1,447 votes. Deputy Chief Secretary and Secretary for Finance Joel Jack, and former THA presiding officer Dr Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus got 1066 and 904 votes, respectively. But, none of the candidates were able to secure more than 50 per cent of the votes among the members who voted.

Following the announcement of the results Pascall said, the party has learnt from their mistakes and the next time around the one man, one vote process for all 17 executive positions would be easier.


Elected members on the executive are:

Chairman –
Stanford Callender

Vice Chairman –
Deon Isaac

Lady Vice Chairman –
Marslyn Melville-Jack

General Secretary –
Lynette James-Louis

Assistant Secretary –
Akissi London

Kwesi DesVignes

Social Media Officer –
Tineesia Brebnor

Operations Officer –
Ancil Thorne

Research Officer –
Keigon Denoon

Youth Officer –
Andre Baker

Treasurer –
Terrence Henry

Education Officer –
Kurt Salandy

Labour Relations –
Kevern Phillips

Elections Officer –
Huey Cadette

Field Officer –
Keyon Andrews

Welfare Officer –
Ricardo Warner


"Callender retains PNM Tobago Council chairmanship"

More in this section