N Touch
Tuesday 20 August 2019
follow us

Alexander dethrones McLean as elite sprint champ

Quincy Alexander
Quincy Alexander

QUINCY ALEXANDER dethroned Haseem McLean as the Elite Men’s Sprint champion on the opening day of the Elite and Under-23 TT Cycling Federation (TTCF) National Track Cycling Championships, at the National Cycling Velodrome, Balmain, Couva on Wednesday.

Alexander, of Team DPS, won the flying 200 and sprint race in 10.368 seconds, with McLean of PSL taking silver in 11.354 seconds. A pair of unattached riders, Michael Ackee and Darius Beckles, followed in 11.466 and 11.623 respectively, while Peter Thompson of Arima Wheelers was fifth in 12.924.

Dominique Lovell of Team DPS was the lone entrant in the elite female sprint race, and she stopped the clock in 13.321 seconds.

Akil Campbell of PSL regained his omnium men’s title with a tally of 239 points, followed by the Team DPS duo of Tyler Cole (211) and Kemp Orosco (194). Jovian Gomez of PSL was fourth with 138, with Donnell Harrison of Rigtech Sonics fifth with 106. Also completing the race were Nathan Alexander of Team Woods (96) and Maurice Burnette of Team DPS (25).

The Elite and Under-23 Championships will run until tomorrow.

Today's Most Popular

Reply to "Alexander dethrones McLean as elite sprint champ"