N Touch
Thursday 22 August 2019
follow us

King’s half-century guides Technocrats to victory

FLASHBACK: Stacy Ann King bats during a Courts Women's T20 tournament last year. King scored 59 for Technocrats over the weekend.
FLASHBACK: Stacy Ann King bats during a Courts Women's T20 tournament last year. King scored 59 for Technocrats over the weekend.

WEST INDIES women's player Stacy Ann King struck 59 to lead Technocrats to a crushing 107-run win over Players Sports Club, in round one of the TT Women's Cricket Association (TTWCA) 50-over premier division competition at Macaulay Park in California, on Sunday.

Batting first, King's half-century and 35 from national cricketer Amanda Samaroo guided Technocrats to a competitive 198 for eight in 38 overs. Nadia Mohammed (2/29), Shanmatee Nowrang (3/27) and national player Kirbyina Alexander (2/14) were among the wickets for Players Sports Club.

Players were bundled out for 91, with TT bowler Kamara Ragoobar snatching 3/16, to hand Technocrats victory by 107 runs.

Phoenix Women recorded a five-wicket win in the premier division over Cricket Divas. The Divas were dismissed for 120 with Tricia Marquis scoring 29 and Stacy Ann Bolah pitching in with 24. Renelle Dookie was the chief destroyer for Phoenix, taking 5/23, while Samantha Bissoon snatched 3/31 and Neeta Boodhai grabbed 2/16.

In reply, Phoenix got to 121/5 in 24.4 overs with Reanna Farrow top scoring with 34 and Leandra Ramdeen adding 18.

In the 30-over championship division, there were wins for Cricket Lovers, Waterloo All Stars and Achievers Women. A TTWCA press release praised Cricket Lovers for showing the spirit of cricket for not claiming the default victory after JFK arrived beyond the grace period for late arrival.


Premiership Division

At Macaulay Park, California: Technocrats 198/8 (38 overs) (Stacy Ann King 59, Amanda Samaroo 35; Nadia Mohammed 2/29, Shanmatee Nowrang 3/27, Kirbyina Alexander 2/14) vs Players Sports Club 91 (J Noel 14, F Jack 14; Kamara Ragoobar 3/16) Technocrats defeated Players Sports Club by 107 runs

At Gilbert Park, California: Cricket Divas 120 (Tricia Marquis 29, Stacy Ann Bolah 24; Renelle Dookie 5/23, Samantha Bissoon 3/31, Neeta Boodhai 2/16) vs Phoenix Women 121/5 (24.4 overs) (Reanna Farrow 34, Leandra Ramdeen 18) Phoenix Women won by five wickets

Championship Division

At Pinto Recreation Ground: Cricket Lovers 142/4 (18 overs) (Jovanka Simon 58 not out, Mary Mungal 19, Nidia Andrews 2/40) vs JFK 45 (Nidia Andrews 14; Sandy Williams 4/10, Jamie Holder 4/13) Cricket Lovers won by 97 runs

At Esmerald Recreation Ground: Waterloo All Stars 134/9 (25 overs) (Lera Jennings 14; Latoya Garraway 2/28) vs UWI 114/9 (25 overs) (Tammika Nanan-Ramsumair 20 not out; Felicia Cummings 3/18, Brenda Solozano 2/15, Vidya Bhola 2/30) Waterloo All Stars won by 20 runs

At Brickfield Recreation Ground: Achievers Women 171/7 (25 overs) (Anjali Goordeen 59; Kiara Ruben 3/28; Salisha Heraldo 2/33) vs Brickfield Warriors 73 (Rian Ramharack 31 not out; Daylia Alexander 2/10, Shanta Roopchan 2/12, Hema Mahabir 2/15) Achievers Women won by 98 runs

Today's Most Popular

Reply to "King’s half-century guides Technocrats to victory"