Fire win All Sectors netball KO opener

FIRE, TSTT and Bermudez started their challenge of the 29th edition of the Courts All Sectors Netball League in fine style, as all three teams left Saturday's league inauguration with the opening-day knock-out competition titles in their respective divisions.

The opening ceremony, march past, and the knockout matches were staged at the Eastern Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Tacarigua – the venue for all All Sectors Netball League matches this season.

Fire were crowned knockout winners of the Premier Division, replacing 2018 champions UTT who are not in this year's competition in any division. Fire defeated Police Youth Club 6-3, thanks to the sharp shooting of goal-shoot Simone Morgan who netted each of her four efforts. Goal-attack Ornella Jack contributed with two goals from three attempts.

TSTT got off to a strong start in defeating last year's knockout winner Bermudez in the Championship final. Kanika Paul Payne was the stand-out with four goals in six attempts, followed by her team-mate Candace Gibbs who sunk three goals in seven tries.

Bermudez, who will also be represented in the Alternative Division, were vindicated by winning the division's KO competition 5-1 over MIC (Metal Industries Company) Tigers.

Shanequa Griffith was perfect with two from two and Correne Torres was almost as clinical with three goals from four attempts.

The Retro Division league matches got underway yesterday with two matches. Jabloteh played Les Enfants, before Police took on TSTT.

Action will continue today with the opening of the Alternative Division. There will be three matches starting with Bermudez vs Defence Force at 5.30 pm, followed by a meeting between Jabloteh and UWI Y at 6.20 pm. Las Lomas and UWI X clash at 7.10 pm.

Alternative Division matches will continue on Thursday.

The first Championship Division fixture will be played Saturday between Jabloteh and Miscellaneous Laventille United, a team making its league debut, at 12.30 pm, followed by the Premiership opener between Las Lomas and UTC at 1.45 pm.

In total, 25 teams will participate in the four divisions: six in the Premier Division, five in the Championship Division, ten in the Alternative Division and four in the Retro Division.

All competitions in the league remain the same from last year. The major knockout competitions include the Jean Pierre Challenge Trophy and the Steve Sarjeant Challenge Trophy. Jean Pierre and Steve Sarjeant were founding members of the league in 1991.

A new feature has been introduced for the Premier Division this year as each team is permitted to field a maximum of two male players in any match. The purpose, according to the league, is to enhance play and increase the excitement surrounding the division.

Fixtures – Courts All Sectors Netball League


Alt Div - Bermudez vs Defence Force, 5.30 pm

Alt Div - Jabloteh vs UWI Y, 6.20 pm

Alt Div - Las Lomas vs UWI X, 7.10 pm


Alt Div - MIC vs USC, 5.30 pm

Alt Div - PYC vs TT Post, 6.20 pm

Alt Div - Bermudez vs Jabloteh, 7.10 pm


Chp Div - Jabloteh vs Misc. Laventille Utd, 12.30 pm

Prem Div - Las Lomas vs UTC, 1.45 pm

Chp Div - Defence Force vs TSTT, 3 pm

Prem Div - Police vs PYC, 4.15 pm

Prem Div - Defence Force vs Fire, 5.30 pm


"Fire win All Sectors netball KO opener"

More in this section