N Touch
Wednesday 19 June 2019
follow us

S&S Web Source win Norman’s Windball title

READY FOR ACTION: S&S Web Source all set for the First Citizens Norman's Windball Cricket League final last Sunday.
READY FOR ACTION: S&S Web Source all set for the First Citizens Norman's Windball Cricket League final last Sunday.

S&S WEB Source brushed Vibranium aside by seven wickets on Sunday to retain their First Citizens Norman's 12-over Windball Cricket League championship title at the Tacarigua Community Centre Ground. With West Indian international and national cricketer Sunil Narine in the squad, S&S Web Source strolled to victory in the main division with more than three overs to spare.

After winning the toss, Vibranium chose to bat and were quickly stifled off the cuff, thanks to Narine's bowling. He didn't pick up any wickets but conceded just six runs in two overs in a stuttering start to Vibranium's innings. Vibranium struggled to find their rhythm, with wickets falling at regular intervals thereafter. Dexter Samuel tried to get things going with 12, but after slapping Dave Baboolal for six, the bowler exacted revenge by having him caught at long on. Andy Ruiz was the only batsman to offer resistance with an unbeaten 18 (one six, one four), as they limped to 49 for seven from 12 overs. The title holders easily dismantled the opposition, with Dylan Ravello grabbing two for one from two overs, and Keron Noreiga taking two for 18 from his allotted three.

Trudy Louison, Communication Officer, First Citizens Sports Foundation, left, and NLCB representative Lisandra Thompson, right, present the winning trophy to Sheldon Balroop of S&S Web Source after winning the Norman's Windball League final on Sunday.

The champs made easy, albeit patient work of the chase, after a slow start. They were left reeling on 13 for two after star batsman Hanuman Moonsammy (three) and Rajin Kumar (four) departed cheaply. However, Narine steadied the innings with a cool 12, including one massive six that resulted in a "lost ball," before being bowled. This set up Kadeem Williams (18 not out) and Avian Mejias (seven not out) to bring the innings home. Mejias sealed the title with a six to leave S&S Web Source on 51 for three from 8.1 overs, and with another crown under their belt.

Earlier in the day, the Over-40 title was claimed by Drifters in a nail-biting finish that went down to the final ball against Anthrax, in a repeat of last year's final. Batting first after winning the toss, Drifters made 87 for six in their 12. Ryan Baksh cracked 35 not out from 21 balls with two fours and a six to lead the way, with Alex Frederick notching two for 11 in return. In response, Anthrax made the chase quite difficult with some uncertain shot selections and let victory slip from their grasp. It ended up being a one-man chase as Sunil Boodansingh made a valiant 41 off just 16 balls with six maximums. Cyrus Balroop chipped in with 17 (one four, one six), but when he departed, he left his fellow opener Boodansingh to do all the work with no one else getting into double figures. In the final over, Anthrax needed six to win but Ruiz (playing in this division as well) stymied his opponents to leave them on 85 for eight. He took three for seven and was supported by Roger Khan with two for 15, leading their team to a two-run triumph.

Vibranium's David John plays a shot against S&S Web Source in the First Citizens Norman's Windball League final at Tacarigua Community Centre on Sunday.

In the Best of the Rest final, D' Mango Bar claimed the title with a 17-run win over Lance's Bar in a Tacarigua derby. D' Mango Bar won the toss and batted first to make 76 for seven in their 12. Rishi Manner made 21 not out (two sixes, one four), while Dale Pran chipped in with 18. Jeremy Mungroo looked set to get going too with 12, before he played onto his stumps. Narine Samaroo did the damage with three for seven, bowling out three opponents in the opening over. In their turn at the crease, Lance Bar laboured to 30 for four at the halfway mark and never recovered. They eventually got to 59 for six from their 12, with only Rajin Maharaj providing some urgency with 18 (two fours, one six). Mungroo did the damage with the ball as well, bowling Maharaj to take the wind out his opponents' sails. He ended with two for 15 from his three to help claim the consolation trophy for his outfit.


Main Divison – Vibranium 49/7 (Andy Ruiz 18 not out, Dylan Ravello 2/1, Keron Noreiga 2/18) vs S&S Web Source 51/3 (Kadeem Williams 18 not out, Sunil Narine 12). S&S Web Source won by seven wickets.

Over-40 Division – Drifters 87/6 (Ryan Baksh 35 not out, Alex Frederick 2/11) vs Anthrax 85/8 (Sunil Boodansingh 41, Cyrus Balroop 17, Andy Ruiz 3/7, Roger Khan 2/15). Drifters won by two runs

Best of the Rest – D' Mango Bar 76/7 (Rishi Manner 21, Dale Pran 18, Jeremy Mungroo 12, Narine Samaroo 3/7) vs Lance's Bar 59/6 (Rajin Maharaj 18, Mungroo 2/15). D' Mango Bar won by 17 runs.

Today's Most Popular

Reply to "S&S Web Source win Norman’s Windball title"