South XI aim to retain SSFL All-Star title

Naps in action vs San Juan North in the Coca Cola National Intercol final on Tuesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva. PHOTO BY ANSEL JEBODH
Naps in action vs San Juan North in the Coca Cola National Intercol final on Tuesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva. PHOTO BY ANSEL JEBODH


THE second edition of the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) All-Star game between the North XI and reigning champs South XI will take place Sunday at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella, starting at 3 pm.

The match is organised by former national player and host of the football television programme, Field of Dreams, Steve David, in collaboration with ACTN The Voice and SSFL. The North XI will consist of the standout footballers from this season, who represented their schools, in the North, East and Tobago zones, while the South XI will consist of the best players within the Central and South zones.

Last year, the South XI claimed the bragging rights and got their name engraved on the first ever SSFL All-Star title, after emerging victorious in the penalty shootout. This year, the North XI will be seeking to capture at least one title for the season as Naparima College lifted all the trophies for the South zone by ending their season undefeated. Both Naps and San Juan North Secondary's coaches, Angus Eve and Jerry Moe, who faced each other in the National Intercol final on Tuesday, were handed the responsibility of selecting the best possible teams to represent their zone.

In addition, the Girls All-Star competition will feature as the first match of the double-header, and kicks off at 1.30 pm, with their North XI and South XI teams selected based on the same criteria. The event is free to the public.

South All-Stars:

Goalkeepers – Levi Fernandez (Naps), Jabari Gray (Pres Sando).

Defenders – Darnell Hospedales (Pres Sando), Justin Cornwall (Pres Sando), Jeron Pantor (Naps), Tyrike Andrews (Naps), Daquon Foster (Naps).

Midfielders – Kodel Frontin (Naps), Nathaniel Perouse (Naps), Khayyam Headley (St. Benedict's), Kevon Williams (Caps), Josiah King (Caps) Jordan Riley (Pres Sando), Jerrin Jackie (Pres Sando), Ackeel Jacob (Pres Sando).

Forwards – Keon Boney (St Benedict’s), Jaycee Paras (St. Benedict's), Mark Ramdeen (Naps), Seon Shippley (Naps), Isa Bramble (Naps).

North All-Stars:

Goalkeepers – Jacques Poon-Lewis (QRC), Emmanuel John (San Juan North).

Defenders – Ian Cowie (St. Anthony’s), Ronaldo Jacob (Trinity-Moka), Kerdell Sween (Trinity-East), Nick Guy (Valencia), Kyle Thomas (San Juan North), Dominique Lyons (Bishop’s- Tobago).

Midfielders – Haile Beckles (St. Anthony’s), Zion Mc Leod (East Mucurapo), Luke Darwent (Fatima), Gabriel Nanton (St. Mary’s), Tyrese Spicer (St. Mary’s), Ethan Bonaparte (St. Augustine), Rivaldo Coryat (St. Augustine), Tyrique Sutherland (Trinity-East), Isaiah Chase (San Juan North), Elair Brewster (San Juan North), Kishon Huyshen (Bishop’s- Tobago).

Forwards – Kesean St. Rose (St. Augustine), Ronaldo Boyce (San Juan North).


"South XI aim to retain SSFL All-Star title"

More in this section