Voice in calypso semis

 Soca artiste, Aaron St. Louis (Voice)
Soca artiste, Aaron St. Louis (Voice)

The Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (TUCO) has announced the 40 semi-finalists as well as two reserves for the National Calypso Monarch semi-final which takes place on Saturday at Skinner Park, San Fernando.

A most noticeable semi-finalist is Aaron “Voice” St Louis who is enjoying great success this year with his hit song Year for Love. The reigning Soca Monarch, who will also be defending that title, is also eyeing his song being the winning National Panorama selection.

The line up also includes eight past monarchs in Devon Seale, Duane O’ Connor, Karene Asche, Kurt Allen, Sugar Aloes (Michael Osuna), Chuck Gordon (Roderick Gordon), Singing Sandra (Sandra Des Vignes-Millington) and Cro Cro (Weston Rawlins). Fifteen finalists will be chosen to challenge reigning Calypso Monarch Chalkdust (Dr Hollis Liverpool) on Dimanche Gras night.

Calypso Fiesta show time is at high noon. Following is the full list of semi-finalists and their song:

Aaron St Louis (Year for Love), Alana Sinnette-Khan (Dead Beat), Alex Gift (Who Is the Fake), Brian London (I Playing Police), Candice Robinson (The Struggle Is Real), Carlos James (Ah Cutback), Carlton Louison (Glorified Gangster), Curlissa Charles Mapp (D Circus), Devon Seale (Not Red or Yellow); Dexter Parsons (Chinese Tuition), Duane O’ Connor (No Front Page), Ezekiel Yorke (A Cashless Society), Giselle Fraser Washington (Plenty Talk), Heather Mac Intosh-Simon (The Survey), Helon Francis - Change, Henson Wright (All I Ask), Joanne Rowley (Rowley to Rowley), Karene Asche (Song of Inspiration), Kerine Williams-Figaro (Reparation);

Kurt Allen (Circle, Square, Science), Maria La Caille (Let Her Go), Marsha Clifton (Let Them Know), Michael Legerton (We Could Do Better than That), Michael Osuna (Finally), Myron Bruce (The Great Nation), Roderick Gordon (Campaign Truck), Ronaldo London (Tomorrow), Rondell Donawa (De Problem);

Roslyn Reid (The Cry of Tobago), Sandra Des Vignes-Millington (Power in Song), Selvon Noel (Rebellion), Shirlane Hendrickson (Property Tax), Stacey Sobers (Calypso Capital), Stephen Marcelle (What about Us), Tammico Moore (Muzzle D Dog), Terri Lyons (Un Natural Causes), Victoria Cooper-Rahim (Shattered Home);

Wendy Garrick (Salvage Tomorrow), Weston Rawlins (Belated), Winston Scarborough (Journey of the Veterans). The two reserves are Lesley Ann Ellis singing My Advice and Tameika Darius, singing Some Anti-gang Questions.


"Voice in calypso semis"

More in this section