N Touch
Tuesday 17 July 2018
follow us

102,000 UNC members vote today

Just under 102,000 registered members of the United National Congress (UNC) are expected to cast their ballots in the party’s national executive (natex) internal elections today. Five positions, out of the 18 positions on the natex, are up for grabs with three persons – incumbent leader and Siparia MP Kamla Persad-Bissessar; Cumuto/ Manzanilla MP Christine Newallo-Hosein; and Chanda Bhajan – vying for the top post of political leader.

In a telephone interview yesterday, chairman of the elections management committee Dr Rampersad Parasram said, “We will be ready to take people from 8 am and voting will go until 6 pm,” he said, adding, “You have 37 venues and 77 polling stations while hundreds of staff have been trained to man the polling stations throughout the country.” “According to the regulations, people coming to vote at the venues would go to their respective areas and walk with a photo ID and, if their name is on the list, they can vote.”


Reply to "102,000 UNC members vote today"