Soondarsingh wins 10th TT chess crown

Aditi Soondarsingh
Aditi Soondarsingh

Women Candidate Master (WCM) Aditi Soondarsingh scored her tenth win in the national female chess championship which ended recently at the Pan American Life Insurance Plaza, St Vincent Street, Port of Spain.

Soondarsingh, who did not compete last year, is president of FEMS Chess Club.

She first won the title at the age of 15 and was among nine players vying for the title this year.

Starting slowly, she was surprisingly held to draws in her first two games by WCM Shemilah James and Amy Ali, but came back strongly to win her last six games, ending on seven points. In second place was defending champion, Women International Master Gabriella Johnson, who continues to be consistent, finishing with 6.5 points.

Third place when to James who edged Ali on the tie-break after both ended on five points. The tie-break also separated the 5th and 6th places with CM/WFM Shannon Yearwood getting the nod over Anusha Saha. There were also good performances from national female under-12 champion Zara La Fleur, WFM Sadiqah Razark and Athena Martin.

The top five finishers have gained selection to represent Trinidad and Tobago next year at the World Chess Olympiad scheduled to begin on September 23 in Batumi, Georgia.

The national championship was organised by the Trinidad and Tobago Chess Association (TTCA).

The organising committee was TTCA president Sonja Johnson, first vice president Bhisham Soondarsingh and second vice president/tournament director Daryl Davis.

Chief arbiter Roderick Noel was assisted by deputy arbiters Andrew Bowles and CM Cecil Lee.


"Soondarsingh wins 10th TT chess crown"

More in this section