N Touch
Saturday 21 July 2018
follow us

Winners prevail in Bamboo League final

Winners’ Nicholas Pooran, right, collects the league trophy from sponsor Vasant Bharath, left, as Bamboo Cricket League PRO Flora Maharaj, centre, looks on.

Winners lived up to their name as they defeated AutoRama Gunners by 33 runs, in the League Final, as the Bamboo Cricket League 2017 season ended at the Bamboo #1 Recreation Ground, Valsayn, recently.

Led by 15 runs from Trinidad and Tobago’s limited-overs specialist, Nicholas Pooran, Winners posted a total of 85 runs for eight wickets off their allotted 15 overs.

Richard Ali and Sheldon Balroop hit 11 apiece for Winners, while Amit Jaggernauth took three wickets for 13 runs and Daniel Mahabir 2/19 for Gunners.

In their reply, the Gunners were only able to muster 52/7 in 15 overs, as Isaiah Rajah proved to be the chief destroyer with figures of 3/8.

Earlier, in the Best of the Rest Final, Bustin’ Loose recorded a five-wicket win over Blood Brothers to take the title.

Blood Brothers were dismissed for 69 in their allotted 12 overs with Kishore Boodoo claiming 2/8 and Romel Rampersad 2/10. Dwayne Jones topscored with 17 for Blood Brothers while Ravi Ramcharan chipped in with 12.

Bashir Ali led the way with an unbeaten 35 while Ronie Mahabir made 13 as Bustin’ Loose responded with 70/5 in 11.5 overs. Avinash Mohammed got 2/18 for Blood Brothers.

HONOUR ROLL (clubs in brackets) –

Most Runs: Rohan Parsan (Win Lose or Draw)
Sheldon Froix Award - Most Wickets: Andel Ruiz (Valley Boys)
Highest Individual Score: Rohan Parsan (Win Lose or Draw)
Fifty Runs: Rohan Parsan (Win Lose or Draw)
Five Wicket Haul: Rakesh Jagat (Rampage)
Most Wickets (Game): Rakesh Jagat (Rampage)
Hat-Trick: Leon Ramdeen (Hard Drive)
Michael Martin Youth Player Awards: Pradeem Ali (Win Lose or Draw); Kellon Charles (Poison Sports); Terrance Jadoo (El Dorado Golden Knights); Varma Jaggernauth (Outkast); Joshua Ramrattan (Hunters)
Most Disciplined Team: Hunters
Best of the Rest Runners-up: Blood Brothers - $1,000
Best of the Rest Champions: Bustin’ Loose - $2,000
Most Valuable Player: Kevin Ramsharran (Bamboo United)
Man of the Match (Final): Nicholas Pooran (Winners)
Losing Semi-finalists: Charlieville Super Kings; D’Boss Team - $2,500
League Runners-up: AutoRama Gunners
League Champions: Winners


Reply to "Winners prevail in Bamboo League final"