N Touch
Monday 24 September 2018
follow us

Windies women rebuild against Sri Lanka today

West Indies Women will begin a three-match One Day International series against Sri Lanka Women at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba, from 9.30 am, today. The series marks the start of the second edition of the ICC Women's Championship.

Earlier this year the Windies Women had a dismal showing at the ICC Women's 50-over World Cup in England and will be looking for a change in fortune. West Indies, which finished sixth among the eight teams at the World Cup, will be captained by top batter Stafanie Taylor.

The ICC Women's Championship will be played in the same format as the inaugural edition which was held from 2014 to 2016, which was won by Australia. West Indies, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa will play each other in series of three ODIs on a home or away basis over the next two years.

World Cup 2021 hosts New Zealand and the three other top teams from the championship will gain direct qualification for the World Cup. The other teams will have to compete in the ICC Women's World Cup qualifier.

West Indies selector Lockhart Sebastien is hoping for an improved showing following the disappointing showing at the 2017 World Cup.

"We expect to see something better. The girls played two practice games batted reasonably well against the Under-19 Trinidad and Tobago team," Sebastien said. " There is a cycle for the next four years for the next World Cup. We are playing Sri Lanka and we are hoping to start with a victory tomorrow (today). Some of the batters have looked good, the captain herself played two very good innings in both practice games and some of the other batters. I feel confident that we will do well."


Windies Women: Stafanie Taylor (captain), Merissa Aguilleira, Reniece Boyce, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman.

Sri Lanka Women: Inoka Ranaweera (captain), Chamari Athapaththu, Chandima Gunarathne, Nipuni Hansika, Achini Kulasuriya, Ama Kanchana, Hansima Karunarathne, Dilani Manodara, Yashoda Mendis, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodani, Shashikala Siriwardena, Rebeca Vandort, Prasadani Weerakkodi, Sripali Weerakkody.


Reply to "Windies women rebuild against Sri Lanka today"