Johnson registers second victory at National Chess

Ryan Harper
Ryan Harper

The Trinidad and Tobago National Chess Finals 2017 continued yesterday with Round Two action at the seventh floor of the Pan AmericanLife Building, Port of Spain.

In the open category, Joshua Johnson got his second win of the tournament by defeating Dev Soondarsingh 1-0.

Maro Merritt and Ryan Harper followed suit as they got past their respective rivals, Esan Wiltshire and Frank Yee by 1-0 margins – both earning their second victory in as many days.

Adrian Atwell Winter also won his second match when he battled Ravishen Singh and came out victorious while Kevin Cupid handed David Jones his second 1-0 defeat. Alan-Safar Ramoutar and Isaiah McIntosh drew their match to split the points.

Gabriella Johnson picked up her second win of the tournament in the Women’s category when she triumphed over Shemilah James 1-0. Zara La Fleur recovered from her opening day defeat as she emerged victorious over Sadiqah Razark 1-0.

Amy Ali, who was on a first round bye, held Aditi Soondarsingh to her second draw in the competition as both had to share the points. The battle between Anusha Saha and Shannon Yearwood also ended in a draw while Athena Martin was a mere spectator in the second round as she was on a bye. The 2017 National Chess Finals continues today at the same venue and is scheduled to begin at 2 pm.


"Johnson registers second victory at National Chess"

More in this section