N Touch
Thursday 16 August 2018
follow us

LATT Chairman: Resignation will not affect board

Vidya Deokiesingh

Chairman of Lake Asphalt Trinidad and Tobago Limited (LATT), Christopher John-Williams, yesterday said it was up to the Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and the Corporation Sole, Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert to decide on a replacement for Vidya Deokiesingh, an employee of Petrotrin, who recently tendered his resignation as a director of LATT. John-Williams said Deokiesingh tendered his resignation with immediate effect but he was unable to say what prompted him to do so.

Adding that Deokiesingh was on two months vacation at the time of his resignation, John-Williams said his departure will not impede the functioning of the board.

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, Franklin Khan has reportedly confirmed that Deokiesingh tendered his resignation earlier this week. His resignation came amidst an investigation by Petrotrin into allegations first made by Opposition Leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar at a Monday night meeting of the United National Congress that a lease operator supplying crude oil to the State oil company, Petrotrin, had defrauded the company of almost $100 million.


Reply to "LATT Chairman: Resignation will not affect board"