N Touch
Monday 16 July 2018
follow us

Horticultural Society of TT elects new executive

Addressing the newly-elected Executive of the Horticultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago (HSTT) at its Annual General Meeting held on Saturday, Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries, Clarence Rambharat offered his congratulations and challenged the Society to apply itself strategically in the year ahead.

Stressing the importance of remaining relevant with the changing times, he cautioned that “success should be measured by relevancy and not longevity,” The Society was also challenged to raise interest in its activities, especially targeting the young generation.

Well-known environmentalist Narine “Gupte” Lutchmedial who is the newly elected President of the HSTT endorsed the comments of Minister Rambharat and assured that the executive will consider them as they plan activities for the upcoming year. “The Minister has indicated that the HSTT can participate in the Farmers’ Market managed by NAMDEVCO and this will be an option to explore as we look at increasing income generation,” said Lutchmedial.

At this time, the HSTT’s flower market which provides an avenue for sale of tropical cut flowers and foliage is based at the Lady Chancellor Headquarters only and the opportunity for expanding into other locations and serving additional clientele is not to be missed, the HSTT executive said.

Lutchmedial is looking forward to work in concert with the immediate Past President Joan Hampton and the other elected members to build on the excellent reputation of the Society. “I am pleased to be involved in this Society which is well-known for winning awards internationally and showcasing our native flowers and foliage at the highly anticipated annual flower show,” Lutchmedial said. He added that his concern for and pride in this country’s native flora and fauna will motivate him to do his best during his tenure.

In addition to Lutchmedial, the other members who will serve on the executive are Joan Hampton – Immediate Past President, Chanardai Ramkissoon — 1st Vice President, Hyacinth Cross — 2nd Vice President, new committee members Kerry-Ann Harrison, Mala Ramnath, Sundar Seecharan, Kimberly Howai and Paul Duval, and continuing members Denise Gobin-Rocke, Melissa Lee Foon, Bertille Sealy, Janice Barnes and Theresa Chasteau.


Reply to "Horticultural Society of TT elects new executive"