N Touch
Monday 16 July 2018
follow us

Subway Open Water Classic on September 17

At a glance

Registration is now open and can be accessed via ASATT’s website. The deadline to register is 6 pm on September 13.

Subway has again taken on the role of title sponsor of the Annual Maracas Open Water Classic with the 2017 edition scheduled for September 17 at 8 am.

A new and more spectator friendly course has been adopted where swimmers will have to navigate a one-lap one kilometre circuit. This will ensure that spectators can get a better view of the race with more action closer to the shoreline.

The Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ASATT) has been hosting open water events annually since 1962 and according to the World Open Water Swimming Association, the event is one of the longest running in the Americas.

There will be four races featured this year and some changes in the course distances. The day will start with a 5,000m race at 8 am. The 750m course for 12-and-under has now been increased to 1,000m, while a new 13-and-over 1,000m race has been introduced to encourage more participation by seniors who may not favour the longer distance. The 1,000m races start at 10 am.

The last race will be the 3,000m which replaces the 2,750m swim. This race gets underway at 11 am. The races continue to attract a wide demographic from recreational to competitive swimmers, and from as young as six years to senior athletes over 70 years of age. There are many special age group trophies catering for the wide spectrum of competitors.

In 2016, the junior 750m race was won by Nikoli Blackman of Marlins Swim Club. Blackman won the inaugural 12-13 age group 3K event at CCCAN Championships at Turtle Beach in June this year. World Juniors-bound Kael Yorke won the 2,650m course on the male side, while multiple regional medallist Jada Chatoor won the female division. In the 5K, Graham Chatoor was the male victor, while Chisara Santana topped the female athletes.


Reply to "Subway Open Water Classic on September 17"