Just In
Pregnant mom fatally stabs man in attack Carnival cutbacks: Regional bodies scale down shows, competitions Final goodbye to Max: Late president’s ashes scattered in Gulf of Paria Machel, SuperBlue rule Soca Kingdom Island People revellers fete in silence
follow us
N Touch
Sunday 21 January 2018

Carrington breaks two records at Short Course Swim Champs

Derelle Augustine during his gold medal swim in the Boys 11-and-Over 100-metre breastroke B final on Sunday. PHOTO BY ALLAN CRANE/CA-IMAGES

Liam Carrington of Atlantis Aquatics Swim Club earned two national records on the closing day of the National Open Short Course Championships at the National Aquatic Centre in Couva, on Sunday night.

Carrington copped silver in the boys 10-and-Under 200-metre individual medley, but his time was strong enough to break the national 8-and-Under record for the event.

Carrington stopped the clock in two minutes 49:77 seconds, breaking the previous record of 2:53.25 held by Zarek Wilson since 2014.

Winning gold in the event was Zachary Anthony of Marlins in 2:47.09, while Giovanni Rivas of Flying Fish took bronze in 2:50.49.

Carrington missed out on a medal in the boys 10-and-Under 100m backstroke when he finished fourth in 1:23.45.

However, he broke the previous 8-and-Under record of 1:24.14. Rivas won gold in 1:19.17, followed by Anthony in 1:21.38 and Andre Sandy of Point Fortin in 1:23.05.

Jahmia Harley of Tidal Wave Aquatics won gold in the girls 11-and-Over 200m butterfly in 2:25.43.

Harley’s time was fast enough to break the meet record of 2:26.82 and the 13-14 record of 2:25.67.

Kael Yorke broke his own meet record of 2:10.20 in the boys 11-and-Over 200m butterfly when he won gold in 2:06.88.

In the mixed 10-and-Under 200m freestyle relay, the Tidal Wave Aquatics team of Joy Blackett, Shaelen Reece, Quillon Leera and Amelia Rajack broke the meet record. They won in a time of 2:10.43 breaking the previous record of 2:11.73.

Another meet record was also broken in the mixed 11-and-Over 200m freestyle relay. Flying Fish won gold in 1:43.02 breaking the previous record of 1:46.89.

Tidal Wave werethe top club with 272.4 points, followed by Marlins with 204 points and Atlantis with 147 points.


Reply to this story