Charles: Why Anita family had to wait five months? Sinanan: Galleons Passage to arrive in Cuba tonight AG: Gov't working hard to get TT off EU blacklist Fathers of murdered teen and hitman reconcile Converse reverse: popular brand to close TT stores
N Touch
Saturday 26 May 2018
follow us

Rose, Saith, Bartholomew & more get National Medals

Former PNM government minister Dr Lenny Saith, Aids researcher Professor Courtenay Bartholomew and Mc Cartha Lewis also known as Calypso Rose are this year’s recipients of the nation’s highest award, the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Saith, who served under the first Patrick Manning-led government, is a civil engineer. He is being honoured for his contribution to national development. Bartholomew, a graduate of University College Dublin, Ireland, is the Professor Emeritus of Medicine of the University of the West Indies and an international researcher on Aids. He is being honoured for his contribution to medicine while Calypso Rose is being honoured for her contribution to culture .

Rose became the first soca artiste to win the World Music Album of the Year for her album Far From Home at the French Victories de la Musique award ceremony in Paris on February 10.

She made history in 1977 as the first woman to win the Road March and since 1978 she remains the only woman to have captured Carnival’s three top musical honours–Road March, National Calypso Queen and Calypso Monarch–in one year.

The Republic Day Awards replaces the Independence Day Awards ceremony. It is scheduled for this evening at the National Academy for the Performing Arts, in Port of Spain.

A full list of this year’s recipients are below:

Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

  • Dr Lenny Saith, Civil Engineer, National Development and Public Service
  • Professor Courtenay Bartholomew, Medical Researcher, National Development in Medicine and Public Service
  • Mc Cartha Lewis (Calypso Rose), Calypsonian, Culture

Professor Bartholomew

Chaconia Medal (Gold)

  • Sandra Pearl Jones, former Permanent Secretary, Public Service
  • Dr John Prince, former Permanent Secretary, Public Service
  • Jarrin Solomon, Athlete, Sport
  • Jereem Richards, Athlete, Sport
  • Machel Cedenio, Athlete, Sport
  • Renny Quow, Athlete, Sport
  • Lalonde Gordon, Athlete, Sport
  • Imam Haji Hamza Haniff Mohammed (posthumously), Religious Leader , Religion

IAAF gold medallists Jarrin Solomon, Machal Cedenio, Jereem Richards and Lalonde Gordon will receive more Gold at today's ceremony.

Chaconia Medal (Silver)

  • Amoy Chang Fong, former Banker, Public Service
  • Neil Wilson, Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly/Former Councillor , Public Service

Hummingbird Medal (Gold)

  • Robert Alphonso Nelson, Calypsonian, Calypso and Culture
  • Karilyn Shephard, Environmentalist, , Environment
  • Thora Best, former school principal, National Development and Public Service
  • Dalvi Paladee, Managing Director, Business and Community Service
  • Akeem Stewart, Athlete, Sport

Hummingbird Medal (Silver)

  • Ian Antonio Alvarez (Bunji Garlin), Soca Artiste, Culture and Music
  • Herbert “Ed” Watson, Musical Arranger/Producer, Culture and Music
  • Errol Alphege Grant, Former Police Inspector, Community Service
  • Enid Browne, Former Teacher/Netball Coach, Sport and Community Service
  • Stephanie Judith Power, Former Teacher/Cricket Coach/Community Activist, Sport and Community
  • Ramnarine Bridgelalsingh, Dance Tutor , Culture
  • Samsundar“Tara” Maraj , Community Activist, Religion and Community Service
  • Prabu Singh, Artist, Art and Culture
  • Parmanand Singh, Artist, Art and Culture

Hummingbird Medal (Bronze)

  • David Sancaro (posthumously), Student, Gallantry

Public Service Medal of Merit (Gold)

  • Esther Daniel-Liverpool, Former Secretary to His Excellency The President, Public Service
  • Dr Anton Cumberbatch, Medical Doctor, Public Service
  • Jacqueline Ganteaume-Farrell, Former Permanent Secretary, Public Service
  • Carl Ansel Francis, Former Permanent Secretary, Public Service
  • Eric James, Former Permanent Secretary, , Public Service
  • Arlene Mc Comie, Former Permanent, Secretary, Public Service
  • Ammar Samaroo, Former Comptroller of Customs and Excise, Public Service
  • Roslyn Lauren Khan-Cummings, Former Permanent Secretary, Public Service

Public Service Medal of Merit (Silver)

  • Steve Williams, Former Manager, Student Support Services, Public Service
  • Lydia Rosalie Choate, Former School Principal , Education and Community Service
  • Shariffudin Mohammed, , Retired Lieutenant Commander , Public Service

Medal for the Development of Women

  • Folade Mutota, Executive Director, Gender Affairs


Reply to this story