Just In
Police capture suspect wanted for soldier's murder Law Association Finally Responds to AG on Anti-Gang Legislation SRP constable charged with stealing $500 Bishop women wear their pride "Cat burglar" behind lawyer's office break-in
follow us
N Touch
Wednesday 21 March 2018

12 vying for National Open Chess crown

Ryan Harper

The National Chess Championships and National Women Chess Championships will be held at 7th Floor, Pan American Life Building, St Vincent Street, Port of Spain from September 23 to October 22.

In the Open tournament, 12 players shall be vying for the prestigious title of National Chess Champion. Eight-time and current national champion, FM Ryan Harper, will have to pull out all the stops to retain his title against a very competitive field comprising FM Adrian WinterAtwell, FM Kevin Cupid, FM Frank Yee, FM Isaiah Mc Intosh, FM Mario Merritt, Alan-Safar Ramoutar, FM Joshua Johnson, CM Dev Soondarsingh, CM Ravishen Singh, CM Esan Witlshire and David Jones.

On the female side, defending Women’s Chess Champion, 16 year old WIM Gabriella Johnson will face WCM Aditi Soondarsingh, CM/WFM Shannon Yearwood, WCM Shemilah James, WFM Sadiqah Razark, Amy Ali, Anusha Saha, Athena Martin and Zara La Fleur. The Trinidad and Tobago Chess Association is encouraging the public to come out and support the players for the most important event on the local chess calendar.


Reply to this story