Protect citizens from 'bad boys' stigma Tewarie: Gangsters do not live past 30 Over 39,700 widows in TT 3 men shot dead Govt not going to IMF
N Touch
Saturday 23 June 2018
follow us

Knight Riders capture South Big Bash Windball crown

Members of the Knight Riders team after winning the South Big Bash 10-over Windball competition on Sunday night.

Knight Riders were crowned champions of the 2017 South’s Big Bash 10-over Windball competition on Sunday night. The final took place at the San Francique Recreation Ground, Debe, as the Knight Riders took on Strikers and emerged victorious by 16 runs.

Knight Riders, who chose to bat first after winning the toss, compiled a total of 68 runs for the loss of six wickets after their mandatory 10 overs. Junior Johnson stroked an unbeaten 19 runs while Shiva Roopchand and Harvey Rampersad contributed 15 and 13 respectively.

Strikers’ Kishan Baliram claimed three wickets for two runs while Brandon Harrylochan copped one wicket for 13 runs.

In their run chase, the Strikers were not able to reach their target, despite Jason Jairam’s top-score of 22.

After their 10 overs, Strikers could only get 52 runs for the loss of two wickets. Johnson also contributed with the ball as he claimed one wicket for six runs, including a maiden wicket over. Marcus Serattan got the other wicket in the innings as he went for 16 runs after his two overs.

In the end, it was the Knight Riders who walked away with the trophy, bragging rights and the $8,000 jackpot while Strikers had to settle for the runners-up prize of $5,000 consolation prize. Johnson was named as the Man-of-the-Match.


Reply to this story